Advertisement

Shrinky-Dinks/how to get flat?

topic posted Sat, February 12, 2005 - 8:49 AM by  AlexMama
Share/Save/Bookmark
Hey you fabulous vixens,

I bet you will know how to get some silly shrinky dinks to go flat!!

I got the shrinking paper that you can put through your printer-- its so cool cause I can print very intreicate things on it and also photos...but the coolest to me are makeing Tara (buddhist goddess) necklaces...

IIIFFFF...I could get them not to curl up in the oven with no hope of flattening.

Advice??
Is this simple and I just don't see it?

Advertisement
  • Re: Shrinky-Dinks/how to get flat?

Sat, February 12, 2005 - 11:18 AM
    are you keeping them in the oven long enough? seems to me they just flatten out when they're all finished and not a moment before...

when are you getting you're shrinking paper? i need more and the actual kits are quite pricy, i end up snagging my kids... ;)

i'm no pro btw... lol

good luck, i bet the taras are very cool!

Sat, February 12, 2005 - 11:34 AM
      thanks anistara!
      ..I think this thinner paper (that can go in printer) is more curly than the regular ones and its much worse...But I will try keeping them in a little longer. I may also try just being patient and doing them with a heat gun - one at a time...

:-)

Sat, February 12, 2005 - 11:39 AM
    yes, you do have to keep a pretty close eye on 'em. you don't want to take them out too early since they tend to curl up a bit before they flatten out.

however, if they curl up and parts begin to overlap, you should pull them out and flatten them out manually. remember, while they are warm, they are still pliable.

hehe. i know, it'd be nice if there were a more exact science to it, right? :D well, the nice thing is that you can always warm them up again to make them pliable.
  • Re: Shrinky-Dinks Scottish style

Sun, February 13, 2005 - 2:13 PM
    Here's a tidbit of info to add to your shrinky dink knowledge base...